Home   Help Search Groups Login Register  
You are not logged in. To get the full experience of these forums, we recommend you log in or register
Plusnet Usergroup » All Users - The Open Forum » Plusnet Customer Service Issues » Cease and reprovide gone pear shaped - can James or Mand help?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cease and reprovide gone pear shaped - can James or Mand help?  (Read 3673 times)
cjags

Posts: 29

« on: July 28, 2007, 03:30:26 pm »

Hi folks.  Moved house a week ago and arranged to have my plusnet broadband moved to my new house (and new number).  The cease went fine but the reprovide was done back to my old number and not onto my new number so I have no broadband.  Have raised a ticket number 22462738 to have this sorted but am being told that there is a lead time of 5 to 7 days.  Can this be shortened seeing how the fault was BTs?  The broadband is needed for my VOIP phones as well as email and internet and going another week without them is not going to be pleasant.

CSC have set me up with the Friaco dialup but this doesn't seem to be working (I can't login) and dialup hogs the only phone line I have got so I can't make calls etc. when online.

Hope you can help.
Phil Richardson

Posts: 992

Products Specialist

« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2007, 07:07:29 pm »

Unfortunatly, there is no way to shorten this unless a paid expedite is placed on the order.

This will normally result in the service being active the following day, but some services will activate on the evening when the fasttrack is placed (delay normally exists due to DACS and such).

This is 100+vat on top of the normal provide fee, so unless you can convince BT to pay this (normally done by you paying it and BT reimbursing you direct), there nothing we can do.

In regards to the dialup service, I can see that the failures to connect are on our side. We see your phone number, we see your username, but we are rejecting is as if there was no subscription to it, when you clearly have.

I have performed a refresh, so I would appreciate if you can retry this.

Phil Richardson
Plusnet Products Specialist
cjags

Posts: 29

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2007, 02:34:58 pm »

1) FRIACO still unable to connect and am still having to use the 0845 number.

2) BT were contracted to provide broadband on my new phoneline.  They didn't and gave it to someone else instead so they have clearly messed up and should put things right as quickly as possible at their expense.  Not make me wait another week unless I pay them extra.  There is an added complication in that my old phone line will be disconnected on 1st August and transferred to the new owners (they are keeping my old number AFAIK) so when BT go to do the cease on Friday 3rd, there won't be any broadband to cease, OR the new owners may have their own broadband provided and won't be amused if BT disconnect it. To avoid more potential BT blunders, they might want to get everything sorted by 1st August.
godsell4

Posts: 397

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2007, 04:16:50 pm »


As this is 'not just a broadband problem', i.e. they have not kept your number the same from the previous house, you can take this as far as you like yourself without PN.

Time to start quoting the Sale of Goods and Service Act at them, ask to speak to a Senior Manager specifically asking for a person who can authorise a 'Letter of Deadlock'. Time is not on your side I am afraid, because technically you have to write a letter, a real one sent through the post, to ask for a Letter of Deadlock. Sad

SW.

BBYW1/10GB
dtomlinson
Plusnet Staff

Posts: 2156


« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2007, 10:18:09 pm »

Hi,

Looks like you've now connected on the FRIACO number. Regarding the broadband I'm not sure exactly what went wrong with the original order, unfortunately other than paying the 100 that Phil suggests there's no way of getting it done any quicker, even with the fast track there are still no guarantees it will get done any faster. If it requires work at the exchange then it's reliant on a frames engineer to do that work which for some exchanges may be a once or twice a week visit. Sometimes orders will complete early anyway because an engineer is on site before the required by date.

Regards,

Dave Tomlinson
PlusNet Support
cjags

Posts: 29

« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2007, 10:02:29 am »

Yes. I did manage to connect on the FRIACO number last night (took 5 attempts to connect and login though).

I am very worried that if BT do a broadband cease on my old number on 3rd August, they will actually disconnect the new owner's broadband which goes live on 1st August.  Or maybe the existence of (the erroneous) broadband on my old number will prevent the new owner's broadband going live on 1st August?
jelv1

Posts: 2130

« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2007, 10:37:54 am »

Or maybe the existence of (the erroneous) broadband on my old number will prevent the new owner's broadband going live on 1st August?

Highly probable given the number of times we see moves failing because the PN user is moving to a house where the previous occupants BB is still active.

jelv
Phil Richardson

Posts: 992

Products Specialist

« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2007, 05:19:31 pm »

It depends how the new owner is activating the service.

By the initial sounds of things, they may be going for a simutanious order so everything takes place on a certain date?

If so, I don't envision anything untowards.

If it's a standard order, well the risks stand.

When did the new occupants voice line go live? If that isn't until the 1st and it's a standard BB order, the BB was never going to be acivated on the 1st anyway.

Phil Richardson
Plusnet Products Specialist
cjags

Posts: 29

« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2007, 12:12:59 pm »

According to the new owner of my old phone line and number, BT are going to transfer the line to their name and provide BB on 1st August.  So fingers crossed it all goes OK for both of us.

PS. The FRIACO dial up is very unreliable.  Takes a number of attempts to connect and once connected, there is about a 50% chance the connection will drop in the first couple of minutes. Sad Sad  At least it is 'free' (ie covered by my broadband subscription).
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: